Who needs to be licensed?
Oregon law requires anyone who works for compensation in any construction activity involving improvements to real property to be licensed with the Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB). This includes roofing, siding, painting, carpentry, concrete, on-site appliance repair, heating and air conditioning, home inspections, tree service, plumbing, electrical, floor covering, manufactured dwelling installations, land development and most other construction and repair services.
A CCB license is also required for:
- those who purchase homes with the intent to fix them up and resell them, even if they do not perform the work themselves.
- material suppliers that receive compensation for installing or arranging the installation of the materials.
Steps to becoming Licensed:
To become a licensed contractor in Oregon you must:
- Complete the prerequisite training and pass CCB’s statewide test.
- File your assumed business name, corporation or LLC at the Oregon Corporation Division.
- Submit a CCB surety bond.
- Provide proof of general liability insurance.
- Provide evidence of worker’s compensation and other employer account numbers if applicable.
- Submit a completed CCB application with the $260 fee for two years, or $520 fee for four years.
For more information on the application process, please contact the state Construction Contractors Board at 1-503-378-4621.
What does HBA of Metro Portland have available to help with the process?
The Home Builders Association of Metropolitan Portland is a provider of the 16-hour at home study course which is required prior to registering for the Oregon Construction Contractors Board examination. The fee for this course is $199.
Please note that the HBA does not provide the actual testing for the CCB test, only the study materials. For testing information, contact Prometric Testing at www.prometric.com.